Department of CSE & IT

Computer Science and Engineering

Computer Science and Engineering designates the scientific and mathematical approach in information technology and computing. Its subfields can be divided into practical techniques for its implementation and application in computer systems and purely theoretical areas. Some, such as computational complexity theory, which studies fundamental properties of computational problems, are highly abstract, while others, such as computer graphics, emphasize real-world applications. Still others focus on the challenges in implementing computations. The Department is headed by Mrs. Shubha Jain, with the team having blend of young and experienced faculty members.

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering came into its existence right from the inception of the Institute in the year 2004. The first batch was started with an intake of 60 students which has now been enhanced to 180 students by the Ministry of HRD, Government of India from the session 2011-2012.

The department has faculty members with M.Tech Degrees and perusing Ph.D from reputed institutes in India.. Our graduates are well placed through on-campus and off-campus placement and are holding responsible positions in Industries and Research organizations Viz. Microsoft, oracle, HSL, Infosys, TCS, Aricent Accenture, ST Microelectronics, Girnar Technologies, Amazon, Newzen, Wipro, Airforce, etc. The campus placement has been nearly 100% for pre final and final years with reputed industries. Accordingly more facilities and expertise are being developed in the areas programming languages and complex systems, and human-computer interaction focuses on the challenges in making computers and computations useful, usable, and universally accessible to humans.

Membership: Computer Society of India (CSI) Affiliations: UPTU, Lucknow and AICTE, New Delhi Accreditation: National Board of Accreditation (NBA) Courses offered by the Department: B.Tech CSE and M.Tech CSE


Computing Facilities


The Department of Computer Science and Engineering presently has 18 labs all centrally air-conditioned, with the capacity of 540 students. In addition to this, a Centre computing facility can cater the need of 70 students and a training lab in the department can support the training of 90 students. There are 700 systems (Core 2 Duo/ Dual Core/ P4 Configuration),2 IMacs,50 Printers, LCD Projectors, HP Scanners, 1 network printer, Digital Camera, Router connected to the network through 8 servers and 1 hardware firewall. The department is taking care of the Wi-Fi campus network with about 700 nodes in the academic building covering Computer Centre, Laboratories, and Administrative office, Library, Faculty Rooms, Reception and Hostel.

24 Hours internet Facilities are available in Hostel as well as in Computer Centre. We have internet connection of one 15 Mbps of AIRCEL with Both RF-Connectivity. Our future target is to achieve the computing facility which will include the state of art computer lab cum digital classroom and Online Library.

Information technology

The Information Technology is defined as "the study, design, development, implementation, support or management of computer-based information systems, particularly software applications and computer hardware." IT deals with the use of electronic computers and computer software to convert, store, protect process, transmit, and securely retrieve information.

Department of Information Technology was established in 2007 woith a mission to provide comprehensive knowledge of computer science with emphasis on applications together with a judicious blend of technical skills.

Course Offered

B.Tech in Information Technology – 4 Years Course (eight semesters) It Follows the Course structure of Uttar Pradesh Technical University (UPTU). Seats Intake – 60


Faculty Members

Name Designation Profile Qualification
Dr. Shubha Jain
Associate Professor Head of Department
Secretary, Computer Society of India, Kanpur Chapter
Ph.D. (CS), M. Phil. (CS), M.Tech. (CS)
Mr. Akhilesh Kosta
Assistant Professor Department Coordinator, Faculty I/C Civil & Maintenance Work M.Tech., B.E.
Mr. Rahul Singh
Assistant Professor "Coordinator AICTE,
Executive Committee Member CSI, Kanpur Chapter"
M.Tech, B.Tech
Mr. Praveen Kr. Tripathi
Assistant Professor Faculty I/C Online Examinations, In charge CYBERSRISHTI, Society of CSE & IT Ph.D(P), M.Tech.
Mrs. Preeti Chaudhary
Assistant Professor Faculty I/C Cultural Activities M.Sc (IT), M.Tech (IT)
Mr. Gaurav Dixit
Assistant Professor M.Tech(P), B.Tech.
Mr. Sunil Awasthi
Assistant Professor M.Tech (CS), B.Tech
Mr. Vivek Agarwal
Assistant Professor Faculty In-charge KIT Alumni Association, Dept Library Incharge, Cybersrishti B.Tech
Ms. Anshika Shukla
Assistant Professor Faculty I/C Technical Trainings & Internships M.Tech. (IT), B.Tech.
Mr. Pronab Adhikari
Assistant Professor Faculty I/C Sports B.Tech.
Mr. Pawan Singh
Assistant Professor Assistant Controller of Examinations Master of Engineering (Computer Science)
Ms. Farah Shan
Assistant Professor M.Tech.(IT)
Mr. Vimal Kumar Awasthi
Assistant Professor M.Tech., B.Tech.
Mr. Saket Kumar Singh
Assistant Professor BE(CSE), MTECH CS
Ms. Priyanka Singh
Assistant Professor M.Tech. (CS), B.Tech. (CS)
Ms. Palak Bagga
Assistant Professor M.Tech. (CS), B.Tech. (CS)
Mrs. Priyanka Gautam
Assistant Professor M.Tech (IT), B.Tech.
Mr. Shashank Kumar Singh
Assistant Professor M.Tech. (CS)

departmental society


CYBERSRISHTI is the society of Computer Science & Engineering under Patron Ms. Shubha Jain Head of Department Computer Science & Engineering, KIT

“CYBERSRISHTI” is formed by the students of C.S.E. and I.T. department. The purpose of the society is creating and increase awareness in the field of technology. These goals are achieved by organizing workshops, seminars, social events, career conferences and special projects.

The society Website link is: All the latest updates & activities are listed on the same.