Mechanical Engineering


One of the founding departments of KIT Kanpur, The Department of Mechanical Engineering played a leading role in rolling out the mechanical engineers from the institute. Department of Mechanical Engineering centres on the principle of maintaining a high standard of mechanical engineering education through outstanding teaching, innovating curricula, and research training that reflect the changing needs of society.

The department of mechanical engineering is headed by Mr. A.S. Verma. The department has faculty strength of 13. Faculty members of the department are also occupants of different chairs of the institute which include Dean Academics Chair and Transport Coordinator. Department has a technical staff of 07 who are associated with 12 different laboratories.


The department offers separate undergraduate 4 year degree course and 2 year regular postgraduate degree program in mechanical engineering.

Undergraduate Programme: (4 years-8 semesters):

  • B.TECH-240
  • B.TECH II Year (Lateral Entry)–12 (3 Year)

Postgraduate Programmes: (24 months-4 semesters):

  • M.TECH-18


The department has well equipped laboratories with most modern infrastructure to cater to the present day need of the industries. The department is very well equipped with computational facilities and resources both in terms of hardware and software. Some of the laboratories with their major facilities are:

Faculty Members

Name Designation Profile Qualification
Mr. A.S.Verma
Associate Professor Head of Department Ph.D(P),M.Tech.,B.Tech
Mr. Shakun Srivastava
Assistant Professor Coordinator Samaj Kalyan Works Ph.D. (P), M.Tech.,B.Tech.
Mr. Arun Kumar Dwivedi
Assistant Professor Department Coordinator M.Tech.(ME)
Mr. Rajnish Sagar
Assistant Professor Faculty I/C Yantrikian Society M.Tech.
Mr. Vikrant Bhatia
Assistant Professor Faculty Placement Coordinator M.Tech.(ME)
Mr. Mohd. Ibnain
Assistant Professor Faculty I/C Transport M.Tech. (P)
Mr. Ashwani Dixit
Assistant Professor B.Tech.
Mr. Subhashit Yadav
Assistant Professor Assistant Controller of Examinations B.Tech., M.Tech. (pursuing)
Ms. Sonam Tiwari
Assistant Professor M.Tech
Ms. Smita Dwivedi
Assistant Professor M.Tech
Mr. Pankaj Tripathi
Assistant Professor Faculty Placement Coordinator B.Tech., M.Tech. (pursuing)
Mr. Kapil Chopra
Assistant Professor M.Tech. (ME)
Mr. Om Prakash Tiwary
Assistant Professor B.Tech. (Mechanical Engineering)
Mr. Brijesh Kumar Singh
Assistant Professor M.Tech. (Material science & Tech.)
Mr. Rajat Kushwaha
Assistant Professor M.Tech. (Thermal Engg.), B.Tech. (Mech.)

Mr. A S Verma, Associate Professor & HOD, of Mechanical Engineering, published Research papers on the following topics :

  • “Airpath Modelling Of Turbochrged Diesel Engine In Transient Operation and Investigation (Anand Swaroop Verma),IJATER,ISSN No: 2250-3536 Volume 3, Issue 1, Jan. 2013.”
  • “Parameterisation for Mean-Value Turbocharger Diesel Engine Models (Anand Swaroop Verma ,Jaiprakash Dwevedi), iJARS/ Vol. I/ Issue III/ Dec, 2012/ 266.”
  • “Exhaust Emissions of Turbocharged Diesel Engine and Its After Treatment-A Survey, (Anand Swaroop Verma), iJARS/ Vol. II/ Issue I/Jan, 2013/286,”

Departmental Society


“YANTRIKIANS” the society of - Department Of Mechanical Engineering

The Convener is Mr. A.S. Verma - HOD ME Department.

The society encourages the conduction of a variety of student activities reflecting student interests and individual or group accomplishments of learning outcomes determined by the college. The society runs various Cultural, Social Service and Sports based activities for the students throughout the year